18 Cranes


18 Cranes (Kaifeng Chronicles, Book One)

Profrac Books, 2018 

ISBN: 9781775316206 (paper), 9781775316213 (ebook)

Twenty-three year old, Li Bing, son of a vice-prefect, writes the provincial level civil service examination in Hangzhou, China, in the year 1630, just over a decade prior to the demise of the Ming dynasty. The story unfolds over a six-week period, from the first day of the three-day examination cycle, to the day when the results are announced.

Throughout this brief period, Bing is haunted by a recurring dream of eighteen cranes. He explores its possible meaning with his father, maternal grandfather, and the young woman he is destined to marry. He learns much more than he could have imagined.

Get your ebook or paperback copy through Amazon in Canada, the US, and elsewhere around the globe. The ebook is also available for Kobo or on iTunes.

Mandarin Ducks


Mandarin Ducks (Kaifeng Chronicles, Book Two)

Profrac Books, 2018 

ISBN: 9781775316220 (paper), 9781775316237 (ebook) 

In late autumn 1630, Li Bing prepares to depart for Beijing to write the  metropolitan examinations. Before he goes, he learns more about his  heritage from his maternal grandfather and hopes to marry his childhood  sweetheart Xiaoyun. However, political intrigue between his father and  hers has the potential to derail more than just his marriage.

Get your copy Kindle or print copy from Amazon in the US or Canada, and other places around the world. The ebook is also available for Kobo, or on iTunes.

Grand Canal


Grand Canal (Kaifeng Chronicles, Book Three)

Profrac Books, 2019

ISBN: 9781775316244 (paper), 9781775316251 (ebook)

Li Bing travels to Beijing on the Grand Canal, stopping briefly in Kaifeng, on his way to write the metropolitan examinations.

Silver Pheasant


Silver Pheasant (Kaifeng Chronicles, Book Four)

Profrac Books, 2019

ISBN: 9781775316268 (paper), 9781775316275 (ebook)

Li Bing writes the metropolitan examinations, and learns a great deal about politics in the imperial capital. 

Learning from Heaven


Learning from Heaven (Kaifeng Chronicles, Book Five)

Profrac Books, 2020

ISBN: 9781775316282 (paper), 9781775316299 (ebook)

Li Bing travels to Ningxia to begin serving in his first administrative role. Along the way, he stops in Kaifeng and engages in a series of provocative discussions.

Sand and Grass


Sand and Grass (Kaifeng Chronicles, Book Six)

Profrac Books, 2020

ISBN: 9781777156701 (paper), 9781777156718 (ebook)

Astronomical Tables


Astronomical Tables (Kaifeng Chronicles, Book Seven)

Profrac Books, 2020 

ISBN: 9781777156725 (paper), 9781777156732 (ebook)



Peacock (Kaifeng Chronicles, Book Eight)

Profrac Books, 


Yellow River


Yellow River (Kaifeng Chronicles, Book Nine)

Profrac Books, 


The final installment in the Kaifeng Chronicles series of novellas. The year is 1642, and imperial troops struggle to keep the city of Kaifeng out of the hands of rebel forces. Tragically, both sides employ similar tactics.